Mama Reads: the Frost Series by @Liz_dejesus23 with @ghbtours

First Frost
The Frost Series Book # 1
By-Liz DeJesus
Publication Date- June 22nd, 2015
Published By – Indie Gypsy
Fairytales aren’t real…yeah…that’s exactly what Bianca thought. She was wrong.
For generations, the Frost family has run the Museum of Magical and Rare Artifacts, handing down guardianship from mother to daughter, always keeping their secrets to “family only.”
Gathered within museum’s walls is a collection dedicated to the Grimm fairy tales and to the rare items the family has acquired: Cinderella’s glass slipper, Snow White’s poisoned apple, the evil queen’s magic mirror, Sleeping Beauty’s enchanted spinning wheel…

Seventeen-year-old Bianca Frost wants none of it, dreaming instead of a career in art or photography or…well, anything except working in the family’s museum. She knows the items in the glass display cases are fakes because, of course, magic doesn’t really exist.

She’s about to find out how wrong she is.
Glass Frost
The Frost Series Book # 2
By- Liz DeJesus
Publication Date- June 22nd, 2015
When joined together, Cinderella’s slippers grant the wearer her heart’s desire. But whose wish will be granted?
When Cinderella’s glass slipper is stolen, Queen Felicia sends her faithful steward Terrance to the real world to retrieve his love and witch-in-training, Bianca Frost. The power of the glass slipper, when paired with its mate, and in the wrong hands, could ruin the peace of Everafter. Bianca must gather every bit of magic she has learned in the past few weeks to find the slipper and protect her new love. Together, Bianca, Ming, Prince Ferdinand, and Terrance venture deep into the heart of Everafter to seek clues as to who has stolen the slipper and why. Along the way, they uncover what happened to the Seven Dwarves after Snow White married the prince, but also learn the awful risk of tampering with black magic and the high price that must be paid for magic, even when used for good.
Bianca and Terrance’s relationship is put to the test. Through the pain of suffering and loss, Bianca must determine if following her gallant boyfriend into his faraway world is in fact her heart’s desire.
Shattered Frost
The Frost Series # 3
By- Liz DeJesus
Publication Date- August 15th, 2015
Bianca Frost and her BFF Ming Lee return to Everafter to attend the Winter Ball with their boyfriends, Terrance and Prince Ferdinand. They were looking forward to a short vacation, especially Bianca, who is being bullied at school. She is looking forward to the day when she can finally graduate from high school. But all is not cute hair and fancy shoes as a mysterious count sets his sights on Bianca at the ball. When Count Jonathan Bleu kidnaps Bianca and Ming, the pair must do everything in their power to escape his clutches. In this amazing adventure, Bianca and Ming find themselves traveling down a rabbit hole, where they have to survive the madness of Wonderland in order to make it back home to the men they love.
Bianca and Ming must travel to the Queen of Hearts’ labyrinth, find Bluebeard’s key and save Jack of Hearts before Bianca loses everything she holds dear.
Mama’s Thoughts on the Frost series:
At first glance, First Frost seems like any other “fairy tales are real and the girl must go on a quest” type of story.  But as you move past the surface, the tale becomes much more complex and intricate.  I enjoyed all of the references to Brothers Grimm and other well known story tellers, as well as the author’s own original take on many tall tales.  Liz DeJesus has a way of making you feel more in a short amount of time than many of her contemporaries, and she does so without much fluff in her writing.
Glass Frost continues the story of Bianca and her friends, and continues her growth while testing her merit.  The Frost series isn’t just about a girl finding her destiny, it’s also about love and sacrifice, and about Bianca finding herself along the way.  She is fiercely loyal and people naturally follow her, which becomes more apparent as her and Ming continue to fight the battle against the evils of Everafter.
Shattered Frost is the culmination of Bianca’s journeys thus far- testing not only her magical knowledge but her strength and mental fortitude.  I love how brave she has become throughout her ordeal, from the first time she sees the witch in the first book until all that comes to pass in this last one.  She is no longer afraid of her own shadow, but she still hasn’t lost the fear of losing those she loves.  There is certainly romance in these books but it is by no means the focus, there is plenty of action and intrigue to keep readers engaged.
I would recommend these even for the young adult crowd, although as an adult I still enjoyed them immensely, as a whole I’d give the series 4 stars, with the books ranging from 3.5 to 4.5 stars chronologically.
About the Author-
Liz DeJesus was born on the tiny island of Puerto Rico.  She is a novelist and a poet. She has been writing for as long as she was capable of holding a pen. She is the author of the novel Nina (Blu Phi’er Publishing, October 2007), The Jackets (Arte Publico Press, March 2011) First Frost (Re-realeased through Indie Gypsy Summer 2015), Glass Frost (Re-released through Indie Gypsy Summer 2015), Shattered Frost (Indie Gypsy, Summer 2015) and Morgan (Indie Gypsy, July 2014). Her work has also appeared in Night Gypsy: Journey Into Darkness (Indie Gypsy, October 2012), Twice Upon a Time (Bearded Scribe Press, Winter 2015) and Someone Wicked (Smart Rhino Publications, Winter 2013).
Liz is currently working on a new novel and a comic book series titled Zombie Ever After (Emerald Star Comics, Fall 2014).
Social Media Links-

2 thoughts on “Mama Reads: the Frost Series by @Liz_dejesus23 with @ghbtours

  1. Pingback: Mama Reads: the Frost Series by @Liz_dejesus23 with @ghbtours | Dreamer talks books

Commenting is Caring

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s