Mama Reads: Letters to Matt by Tara Lin Mossinghoff #review

letterstomatt

Kindle Edition
Published July 8th 2015


Some people work their whole lives to have it all.

“I think it goes without saying that I miss you. So much that some days it feels like my heart might stop beating from it.”

Some people search for that one thing that will complete them.

“I wake up in the middle of the night and I can’t breathe knowing
you aren’t next to me.”

Some people have it all ripped away in the blink of an eye.

“I don’t know how people deal with this kind of loss.”

And some people find solace in their own special way.

“I know I can’t have a future with you, but I’m beyond grateful for the past we shared.”

bdba7-goodreads-badge-add-plus
Mama’s Thoughts:
This is a difficult book to review.  For a few reasons.  One, I really enjoyed the author’s style and voice, and felt the character development was phenomenal, so much so that I couldn’t believe I hadn’t heard about her yet.  Second, there were some inconsistencies in Jaden and her family that just didn’t make sense in the overall scope of the story.  But last, and most importantly, the ending absolutely destroyed the book for me.  I mean like really made me wish the author had not tacked on that last chapter and a half.  It seemed very unnatural and contrived in what had been a heart-felt, beautiful, gut wrenching story that ultimately ended in hope.  It was almost as if an editor added it, or some beta readers complained about the story being too sad and needing something happier at the end.  So while the book would have been a 4.5 star read, the very end brings it down to a 3 star at best.  Honestly, if it weren’t for the last part this would have been one of my most highly recommended books of the summer.  So, if you are a die-hard HEA reader, you might really love this book.  If you want something that will have you crying buckets, then you might love this book.  As always, what makes one reader mad makes another weep with joy, so I wouldn’t try to completely dissuade anyone from giving this a go.
***A free copy of the book was given to me for an honest review.  All opinions are my own and no compensation was provided.***

 

One thought on “Mama Reads: Letters to Matt by Tara Lin Mossinghoff #review

Commenting is Caring

