Mama Reads Claire Daly Reluctant Soul Saver by @michelezbrouder #review and #giveaway inside

Claire-Daly-Banner

Claire Daly: Reluctant Soul Saver by Michele Brouder

Publication Date:  September 2015

Genre:  YA, Paranormal Romance

Claire-Daly-Cover

When seventeen year-old librarian wannabe Claire Daly is dragged kicking, screaming and cursing from everything she loves—her mam, her cozy Irish village and the dreamy boy next door—to take up arms in the battle of good versus evil, she learns the hard way that sometimes you don’t get to choose your own destiny, destiny chooses you.

Claire’s life plan is simple: head off to university to get her degree in library studies, summon up the courage to tell her best friend Chas that she loves him and live happily ever after. She never once entertained the idea that she might possess divine powers, that she might be predestined to battle Hell’s demons, or, to complicate matters further, that another love of many lives past might turn up on her doorstep. But life doesn’t always go as planned, and when a co-worker is viciously attacked by a demon and her own family threatened, Claire must face the truth: she is called to a higher purpose and has no choice but to answer. Claire sets aside her dreams and begins learning how to deal with the Unholy once and for all. Armed with only a crash course in soul saving and her wits, she gears up for the ultimate show down in Hell. But will it be enough?

bdba7-goodreads-badge-add-plus

Purchase Links:

 Amazon | B&N

Mama’s Thoughts:

This is not an easy book to review.  That’s not to say I didn’t enjoy it because I did.  Rather the book was much more religious  and more middle grade than I expected.  Once I got past this, I found a richly layered fantasy with a small side of ya romance.  Claire is a rather enigmatic character, although I found her naiveté charming and not at all irritating. I wasn’t  too keen on her grandmother but that’s a personal preference so it doesn’t reflect poorly on the author.  While I didn’t fall completely in love with the book, I will absolutely read more by this author and look forward to the potential growth of her Soul Savers. 4 stars

Michele Brouder

I was born in western New York, the oldest of 5. I’ve loved reading since I was very little. From the age of 9, I’ve wanted to be a writer. In high school, I wrote a lot of angst-ridden civil war dramas ala Gone With The Wind, knowing more about the Battle of the Bull Run than a normal teenager should know. I dabbled in writing after that but didn’t get serious about it until 2006, when I decided that this was what I wanted to do for the rest of my life.

I’ve had many interesting jobs but my passion has always been writing.

I lived in Ireland from 2006-2013 with my husband and 2 boys. We moved back to the US and settled in Florida briefly (2 years) before returning back to Ireland in August 2015.

 

Connect with the Author:  Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Pinterest

 

 

 

Follow the tour:

 

Chapter-by-Chapter-blog-tour-button (1)

 

Enter the giveaway:Giveawayrss

Commenting is Caring

