Mama Reads Amelia and the Secret of Stony Manor and chats with the author @JettonMichelle about #writingprocess #genderroles and more! Read our #review and the #interview inside:

Amelia and the Secret of Stoney Manor

Michelle Jetton recently signed with Anchor Group Publishing.  Check out her DEBUT NOVEL Amelia and the Secret of Stoney Manor on Amazon. It’s now on kindle and paperback. It has been in the top 100 with five star reviews. Winner of the Inks and Scratches Magazine Choice Awards for 2015 for Best Book, Best Fantasy World, Best Cover, and Author Debut!

Picture

Title:  Amelia & The Secret of Stoney Manor
Author:  Michelle Jetton
Publisher: Anchor Group Publishing
Release Date: November 5, 2015
Genre: YA Fantasy

Amelia is truly not your average girl and neither is her story. Abandoned by her mother at a young age and raised by an overly-protective grandmother, Matilda, Amelia is confined to the grounds of her childhood home, Stoney Manor. Amelia meets Matthew Fairchild, the new boy in town, and quickly becomes infatuated with him. Soon Amelia discovers things aren’t always what they seem in the little town of Cave Spring, Ga.

On her 16th birthday, life as she knows it changes. Her grandmother confesses to her that she and her family are witches and the Darkness is after her for her family’s power. Along with her friend, Luna, she embarks on a journey to discover who she really is.

Can she protect her family from the Darkness? Is maintaining her relationship with her new boyfriend Matthew even possible? Can she uncover her family’s secrets or will they remain in the dark forever?

9b4aa-72603-add-to-goodreads-button

Mama’s Thoughts:
I think it’s absolutely refreshing when I pick up a book being touted as a ya paranormal romance and find out it is absolutely so much more than that.  This is tale of a girl growing into a woman, learning the truth about herself and her family.  It’s am emotional journey, and a confusing one, as any former teenager, or current teenager knows, this is painfully accurate.  Trying to navigate the emerging feelings she has coming into contact with a boy for the first time, in conjunction with her terrifying nightmares and odd occurences surrounding her, Amelia has to become much stronger than she ever thought possible, and I found her wavering confidence to be rather like my own in some ways.  There are times when I was around 17 that I was so sure of myself, I could’ve done anything, but other times I wanted to stay in my room and hide from the world.  Filled with magic, mystery and suspense this novel held my attention steadfastly from beginning to end, culminating in an ending that left me anxious for the next installment!

Interview with the author:

Thank you so much for answering our burning questions!

Firstly, when you’re writing, do you need peace and quiet or do you listen to music?
Music is my muse so I always listen to music when I write.
 When it comes to gender roles in fiction, do you feel that women are making progress or being held back?
I definitely think women are making progress in books. Look at Hermione Granger, Katniss Everdeen, and Tris. All three are examples of strong, intelligent women.
Romance has always been a very popular genre, how do you feel you make your stories stand out among the crowd?
My book is not necessarily a romance book. It has a love story/romance in it. Amelia is in a new phase in her life. She has never been around guys before so she is learning things as she goes. Although she he has been raised with some old school dating values she is having to learn to tame her teenage hormones. It stands out because it is an innocent, first love type of romance story.
If you could go back in time and be part of any certain era, which would you choose and why?
I’ve always loved the 50’s and the 20’s. I loved the music and the style of both eras. I like how laid back things each era is portrayed and how everyone seemed to genuinely care about one another. The one change I would want to take with me to each era is how far women have come. Yes we can run a household, but we can also be CEO’s of a Fortune 500 company too.
Can you give us a little insight into your process- from the conception of an idea through publishing a book?
It usually starts with a dream that I have. I keep a dream journal near me and wake up and write stuff down. Next is  brainstorming. I try to figure out the end and the beginning and then let the story take it from there. I usually bounce ideas off my best friend Candie during this. Editing takes place next. There are usually three sets off eyes on my manuscript before it goes to an editor. We make sure it is grammatically correct and that it makes sense. 
Finally, when you’re pressed for an answer, what are the first three influences you think of right away?
I have a close group of friends that I run things by when I feel stuck.

About the Author:

jetton
Michelle Jetton is a mom to an amazing, comical, dancing, baseball playing, wanna-be superhero. She currently resides in Georgia with him and her wonderful fur babies.

For as long as Michelle can remember her mind would see stories from things in her everyday life. From making radio shows on her grandparents’ radio to writing scripts for her friends, her passion for writing has only intensified and grown. Recently signed to Anchor Group Publishing, Michelle feels beyond blessed and thankful to them for loving Amelia and giving her a chance to introduce her to the world.

She currently co-writes a website (www.michellejetton.com) in which they feature an Author, Artist, or Photographer of the Month, as well as various other things.

Commenting is Caring

