Happy release day to @awildingwells! #AFieldGuidetoCatchingCrickets is live and you can read our #review plus #sneakapeek inside! Oh and there may be a #giveaway too!

9090105

The soul is not where it lives, but where it loves.

A countryside ranch, naughty notes and a neighbor boy. Kissing in silos and skinny dipping under a full moon. Ten years gone. An ocean, a tragedy…secrets and buried things. Letting go and hanging on. Remembering to forget.

My reality became his nightmare, but then my nightmare became reality.

Hawke Slater was not only my brothers’ best friend, he was a tender, sweet country boy. I never wanted to leave, but there was no choice for me. Two things kept my soul alive, and I’m hanging onto hope that one might be an option for my future.

I wish none of it had been my fault, but it was.

Sloan Story McQueen has returned. Why would I hold out an ounce of hope that she’d want me once she finds out what I do for a living. Some call it obscene, but I’m just chasing storms and rainbows.

She’s holding onto something big. If only it were me.

This novel contains adult content and is not intended for sensitive readers due to what may be disturbing content.

Mama Says:

We were both- and then some.”

My first thought was that there would be no way for me to review this book and do it any justice.  My second thought was, how do I avoid spoilers? So rather than a dramatically detailed review, I’m going to keep it simple. Some books leave you speechless, even if you want to run around like a chicken without a head telling everyone how good these books are.  AFGTCC is one such book.  After reading it I was left not only awed, but completely and utterly in love with Wells as a writer.  Her style is eccentric in the best possible way- a blend of different techniques you might not consider putting together, but in the end they make beautiful music on the page.

Hawke and Sloan are lovable, yet flawed, one deeply and personally, the other due to a severe ache left from the latter’s desertion.  These two will break your heart in such a profound way, it’s really quite a spectacular love story, even though it is highly unconventional and doesn’t quite have the ending you might expect, nor the middle or beginning really.  I can’t stress enough how difficult this book might be to read, so if you in fact have any concerns, the author is more than willing to share with you the ideas and subjects that have been labeled triggering so that you can decide if you’re up for this particular read, I can’t make that decision for you.  But I can say that I think it’s a great book and you’d be missing out on something special by passing it up, so I hope you’ll give it a chance.

There were so many quotes it was hard to choose a favorite, so I made a teaser of one I hadn’t seen used as much for a little variety 🙂

A Field Guide to Catching Crickets teaser

 

_8965089

A. Wilding Wells was raised on a gentleman’s farm in Wisconsin. Deciding to skip college, she instead took her lanky self to Paris to model. After traipsing about the world for two years, she returned to the U.S., met the man of her dreams and in 1991 married, moved back to rural Wisconsin and started a business designing furniture. On her 21-acre farm, she added inspiration to her day-to-day with a flock of sheep, a horse named Judgment Day, geese, chickens, goats and a miniature donkey. In 2010, she, her husband and their four young boys moved to California to escape the chilly Midwestern winters. They now live on a ranch with a menagerie of animals so vast it could sink an arc. In 2014, on a whim, she wrote a romance novel and fell head over heels in love with dreaming up other worlds. A voracious reader and researcher, she is looking forward to writing for years to come.

Visit her website awildingwells.com for more information and to sign up for her newsletter.

You can also follow Facebook  or Instagram for updates and beautiful imagery inspired by her books.

 

I would very much like to gift a copy of this book for KINDLE, so if you’d like one please comment on this post and let me know if you follow me or A. Wilding Wells, and what your stance is on ugly cry books- yay or nay and why? Ends in 24hrs (6/8/16)

2 thoughts on “Happy release day to @awildingwells! #AFieldGuidetoCatchingCrickets is live and you can read our #review plus #sneakapeek inside! Oh and there may be a #giveaway too!

  1. Dear Heart,
    I know our paths have crossed many times on IG,but still this review, even though I read it on IG …I need to say more! I’m just blown away! BEAUTIFUL! I’m honored that you read my book and madly in love with what you wrote in this review! Thank you so much for loving Crickets and for sharing it with the world!
    Cheers + love,
    A.Wilding Wells

Commenting is Caring

