#MyFriendsareallStrange tour with #giveaway

My Friends Are All Strange
Margaret Lesh
Publication date: October 18th 2016
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult

My friends are all strange.

Right now I’m living at Brookside, a place for people like me. I’ve met a kitty girl, a brooding beautiful boy, one who can’t be touched, and others. My new friends. Strange people. People like me.

I’ve always been different, but lately, more so. My hands sometimes don’t seem to be attached to the rest of me. I cut up all of my clothes. I’m hot, so hot, all of the time. If I sleep, a wizard haunts every dream. I don’t sleep. Sometimes I want to run, but where do you run to when you’re trying to escape your own mind? I don’t know if I’ll ever be the same. I’m smart. I’m nice, sometimes. I just want to be normal(ish). But, right now, my friends are all strange… Like me.

Dark, funny, snarky, seventeen-year-old Becca struggles to cope with mental illness in My Friends Are All Strange, the gripping contemporary young adult companion novel to Normalish.

Goodreads / Amazon

Mama Says:

Wow, what a refreshing and most unique reading experience.  Many books deal with mental illness, but so few really take you into the mind of the person living with it.  I really appreciated the authors use of first person pov in this instance, and the fact that all the chaotic mess was really a great way to show just how difficult your mind can be when it’s not working properly or as one might say, normally.  There are some very odd people Becca comes to love, but it all makes the more sense as they start to get to know one another and open up about their experiences.  I haven’t read Normalish and yet didn’t feel like I was missing anything.  This stands perfectly well on its own.  My Friends Are All Strange Like Me takes you down the often crooked path of poor mental health, building back up as the narrator/mc starts to have more and more clarity, until we’re given a rather satisfying resolution, even if it is bittersweet.  Real life doesn’t have one hundred percent happily ever afters so it’s kind of a nice change of pace for a book to reflect this.  I’d absolutely recommend this for my ya fans, and anyone who appreciates a well balanced story dealing with the emotional struggles of adolescents and mental illness to boot.

Author Bio:

California native Margaret Lesh lives in a narrow canyon populated by herds of wild burro and packs of coyote. The canyon is also populated with her creative, handsome husband, her feisty mother-in-law, her not-brave-at-all Border Collie, Echo, and sometimes her son (who is away at college. And she is not quite sure how that all happened so fast).

She writes books to entertain young and not-so-young readers as well as herself. She believes tacos are magic.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter

To enter to win Mama Reads/Xpresso tours giveaway for one ecopy of the book, follow any and all of us (Mama Reads, Margaret Lesh and Xpresso Reads) on Twitter, Facebook, and comment below with your usernames and what you think the strangest thing about having friends like you would be 🙂  Ends December 19th!

XBTBanner1

6 thoughts on “#MyFriendsareallStrange tour with #giveaway

  1. Thank you for your lovely review, Mama! I so appreciate you taking the time out of your busy day to do this. I’d love to see this up on Amazon, if you get the chance. (I know that’s asking a lot for a busy mom, though. Been there!)

    All best,

    Margaret 🙂

Commenting is Caring

