S.H.A.Y. tour with #review #guestpost AND #giveaway #ya #scifi

s-h-a-y-tour-banner

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000026_00033]

Summary from Goodreads:

Experiment 318: Gone Rogue
Shay is scientific experiment #318. Science may have created her, but she refuses to allow it to blind her to the difference between right and wrong…
Synthetic Hominid Assumed Youth (S.H.A.Y.) is eighteen years old, which means she has completed Phase One: Developmental. Shay no longer requires the assistance of her Optional Human Parent, Darla, who has guided her in the process of discovering her morality. Shay loves her easy, charming life aboard the marine research facility and doesn’t want it to change.

Phase Two: Experimental. All S.H.A.Y. ages 18-20 will experience loss…
Darla shouldn’t have to die because of an experiment. The thought of losing the only parent she’s ever known is too much. Determined to make sure the scientists at the facility don’t get their way, Shay entraps Darla in a transport device to escape across the Miami Border. There, on the mainland, law enforcement will keep her human parent safe.

Escape Mission: Failed…
Shay crashes into one of the Lone Keys off the coast of Florida, abandoned to all humanity, except for the stranger who drags her ashore. Shay must get Darla to safety or she will die of radiation poisoning trapped inside the Freeze Portal, but Shay can’t do it alone.
The boy who found her, an Ersatz Reproduction Intelligence Clone (E.R.I.C.), is her only hope. He has adaptation skills she needs to complete her mission. Eric was created by the same scientists who want to kill Darla, though. She tries to keep their interaction strictly business, but it’s hard to hate him. He’s flirty, charming and not to mention devastatingly handsome.
Shay must put her trust in Eric’s hands if she wants to save Darla from her fate. It may be worth her heart, but will it be worth her life?
Add to Goodreads

Buy Links: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | BAM

almost-series

A peek from the author at the research process for the Almost Series:

I love the Keys and I learned, on a trip there, about Pigeon Key. It is a research center that focuses on animals from the sea. It sounded like the perfect setting for a suspenseful plot, only with robotics mixed in. I had to research various thesauruses online for terminology. I used these to design various humanoids and Artificial Intelligence. I wanted Shay to love sea life, but also be someone who had the ability to design and develop for the animals. Even though this is about the AI, I made sure to place aquatic life at every possible turn for awareness as their preservation is very important to me. Once I had these things in place, writing the ALMOST Series was easy and has filled my soul with joy as I hope it does for you too!

Mama Says:
This was a really fun young adult scifi book that looks to be the start of a fascinating series.  With plenty of humor and flirty AI, there are moments of profound clarity for these sentient beings who might be much more than they seem, although not human at all.  Or are they?  What makes us human? These are questions which might not be fully answered by the book but they are certainly on the minds of the characters in some subtle and not so subtle ways.  I was hoping for a bit more inner monologue, but with scifi that’s much more rare than all the technological wizardry so I understand why it’s missing and will count that as a personal disappointment rather than actual complaint against the book.  Although not entirely ground breaking I did find this to be original, and not tiresome or overdone like a lot of young adult books revolving around AI have been in recent years.  There’s a decent amount of action but I’m also hoping for more in the next books!  Great for fans of The Lunar Chronicles and I, Robot alike, S.H.A.Y. is available now so you can read it this weekend!

christina-leigh-pritchard

About the Author
Christina Leigh Pritchard was born and raised in South Florida. Her first stories were written at the age of nine in spiral notebooks and in the various diaries she kept.
Since she’s upgraded to a computer, she’s completed over fifty books, including her ALMOST Series, signed with Limitless Publishing.
Christina Leigh Pritchard is still going strong with many more to come! Her genre’s include science fiction, dark fantasy, young adult, drama, suspense, historical romance, multicultural, comedy, poetry and many more.

Author Links: WebsiteGoodreadsTwitterFacebook

Enter the Giveaway

faee4-yabounktourbutton

Advertisements

One thought on “S.H.A.Y. tour with #review #guestpost AND #giveaway #ya #scifi

  1. Pingback: S.H.A.Y. tour with #review #guestpost AND #giveaway #ya #scifi | Teeny Lil' Blog

Commenting is Caring

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s