We talk to the author of #TheSoundofRain and offer a #review and #giveaway

the_sound_of_rain_banner
Synopsis
 

Former homicide detective Nicole Foster has hit rock bottom. Driven off the force by her treacherous partner and lover, she’s flat broke and struggling with a gambling addiction. All Nicole has left is the dream of a warm bed at a homeless shelter and the haunting memories of three-year-old Kelsey Chase—whose murder case ended her career.

As Nicole obsesses over the old facts, she realizes everything about that case felt off: a disinterested mom, a suicidal pedophile, and too many questions left unanswered. When the little girl’s grieving father begs Nicole for help, she’s drawn back into the investigation…and given one shot at redemption.

But the deeper Nicole digs, the more evil she uncovers, including betrayals that hit painfully close to home. Will a shocking discovery be the key to finally getting justice for Kelsey and resurrecting her own life?

the-sound-of-rain
Mama Says:
Reminiscent of some great vintage thrillers, The Sound of Rain ranges from exciting to literary.  Many descriptive passages read like a book of prose while some of the action is positively nail biting.  I took a little longer than I would have liked to get into the head of the main character, but she becomes stronger the more involved she is and some things which seemed unbelievable make a lot more sense later on.  It’s always difficult to go into detail while avoiding spoilers, however, I will say that this book will have you reading in one if you are a lover of psychologically gripping page turners.

What fiction most influenced your childhood, and what effect did those stories have on THE SOUND OF RAIN

I absolutely loved both Hardy Boys and Nancy Drew books. A friend of our family had both series and whenever my mom was visiting I’d find a way to snatch a copy – and return it later.

I don’t think it would be hard for your readers to see how those series helped create the path for the writer that I’d become one day. I loved mysteries of all kinds. I also liked horror. When I was older I read a lot of Stephen King and I especially loved the books in which he made the central character a child or teenager.

Later I started reading a lot more nonfiction crime stories. I think that reading really shaped me more than the fiction. I just couldn’t get it out of my head that real people could do such terrible things to each other for reasons that I could not quite understand. Probably no one can. If you think about it…why would a mother kill her child? Why would a man murder his wife? For money? For greed? None of those things really makes sense. Yes, we understand that’s the reason that the police give us or the prosecution puts forth. But really? There has to be more to the story.

That’s why I’ve written books in both non fiction and fiction – yet all are crime related. I’m always digging into a case, thinking about what happened, then using what I’ve learned from my research in my fiction. I’m always finding interesting details and then working them into a crime story. By the time I get to the end of the writing process whatever “true” nugget I’ve started with is mostly gone.


gregg-olsenABOUT THE AUTHOR
 

Throughout his career, Gregg Olsen has demonstrated an ability to create a detailed narrative that offers readers fascinating insights into the lives of people caught in extraordinary circumstances.

A New York Times, Wall Street Journal and USA Today bestselling author, Olsen has written nine nonfiction books, nine novels, a novella, and contributed a short story to a collection edited by Lee Child.

The award-winning author has been a guest on dozens of national and local television shows, including educational programs for the History Channel, Learning Channel, and Discovery Channel. He has also appeared on Dateline NBC, William Shatner’s Aftermath, Deadly Women on Investigation Discovery, Good Morning America, The Early Show, The Today Show, FOX News, CNN, Anderson Cooper 360, MSNBC, Entertainment Tonight, CBS 48 Hours, Oxygen’s Snapped, Court TV’s Crier Live, Inside Edition, Extra, Access Hollywood, and A&E’s Biography.

In addition to television and radio appearances, he has been featured in Redbook, USA Today, People,Salon magazine, Seattle Times, Los Angeles Times and the New York Post.

The Deep Dark was named Idaho Book of the Year by the ILA and Starvation Heights was honored by Washington’s Secretary of State for the book’s contribution to Washington state history and culture. His Young Adult novel, Envy, was the official selection of Washington for the National Book Festival.

Olsen, a Seattle native, lives in Olalla, Washington with his wife, twin daughters, three chickens, Milo (an obedience school dropout cocker spaniel) and Suri (a mini dachshund so spoiled she wears a sweater).

giveaway-banner
Follow the TOUR
Commenting is Caring

