Come for the Waffles. Stay for the Magic. The Audio tour for @terrymaggert #halfwaydead is here with an exclusive #interview #giveaway and our #review

Author: Terry Maggert

Narrator: Erin Spencer

Length: 7h 12m

Publisher: Terry Maggert⎮2015

Genre: Paranormal

Release date: Aug. 07, 2015

add-to-goodreads-button

synopsis

Carlie McEwan loves many things. She loves being a witch. She loves her town of Halfway, NY – a tourist destination nestled on the shores of an Adirondack lake. Carlie loves her enormous familiar, Gus, who is 25 pounds of judgmental Maine Coon cat, and she positively worships her grandmother, a witch of incredible power and wisdom. Carlie spends her days cooking at the finest – and only – real diner in town, and her life is a balance between magic and the mundane, just as she likes it.

When a blond stranger sits at the diner counter and calls her by name, that balance is gone. Major Pickford asks Carlie to lead him into the deepest shadows of the forest to find a mythical circle of chestnut trees, thought lost to forever to mankind. There are ghosts in the forest, and one of them cries out to Carlie across the years. Come find me.

Danger, like the shadowed pools of the forest, can run deep. The danger is real, but Carlie’s magic is born of a pure spirit. With the help of Gus, and Gran, and a rugged cop who really does want to save the world, she’ll fight to bring a ghost home, and deliver justice to a murderer who hides in the cool, mysterious green of a forest gone mad with magic.

buy-links

Buy on AudibleAmazoniTunes

author-bio

Left-handed. Father of an apparent nudist. Husband to a half-Norwegian. Herder of cats and dogs. Lover of pie. I write books. I’ve had an unhealthy fascination with dragons since the age of– well, for a while. Native Floridian. Current Tennessean. Location subject to change based on insurrection, upheaval, or availability of coffee. Nine books and counting, with no end in sight. You’ve been warned.

WebsiteTwitterFacebookGoodreads

narrator-bio

Erin loves audiobooks!  As an actress, they have allowed her to creatively stretch by playing all kinds of characters, all kinds of ages and all kinds of accents!  She voiced roles in the Audie award winning title, Illuminae and was also nominated for a Voice Arts Award in the romance category.  She has narrated over 100 titles and as an audiobook director has worked on at least 100 more.  She has worked for most of the major publishers and also enjoys working with indie writers who are some of the most talented writers out there! Follow her on Twitter @ErinSpencerLA or find her on Facebook, Erin Spencer Actress.

TwitterFacebookGoodreads

 

 

review

I’m not going to pretend that I don’t already love this author, but I promise to be honest in my assessment of this audiobook.  This was my first experience with Narrator Erin Spencer and honestly I was worried.  Would she be able to impart Carlie’s youthful certainty, snark, and not quite cynical yet not quite optimistic disposition without becoming annoying? Answer: yes.  Yes and more yes.  She nailed the part and never veered into whiny teen territory, which is perfect for a book about a fairly self-assured young woman who comes from a long line of witches.  I enjoyed the high production quality and sense of being part of the story even more so than reading the text versions.  There weren’t any distracting effects or odd background noises, and I was able to fully immerse myself in the listening experience.  If you enjoy books with mysteries to be solved, selves to discover, and deeply hidden truths to be told, with a touch of the supernatural, you’ll love Halfway Dead!

interview

What was your favorite hobby as a child and do you still participate in this activity?
Let me explain this by way of a family tradition. Every time we went into a nice restaurant, my mom would look me over for fish scales. She usually found them. I fished, thought about fishing, swam and fished at the same time, and drew, painted, and collected art about fish. Other than that, I was reading. Between those two things, I’m not sure I slept until I was. . .fifteen, maybe?

How do you balance your writing, family and work time?
Okay, my son is eight. I was forty when he was born, and I discovered that among all the things I was meant to be, his father was one of them. My wife and I are soaking his childhood in, and loving it. To be candid, I would rather not sleep. I can write late at night, hang with the family during the day and evening, and feel like my heart if going to burst from joy. I waited all my life to feel this way, and writing is the dessert.

Do you make New Year’s Resolutions, if so feel free to share one!
I started a complete nightmare this New Year’s– Terry’s Pushup Challenge. To my absolute horror, I’m winning.

Your lead character in the Halfway Witchy series, Carlie, is headstrong, witty, adventurous and well, witchy.  Were any particular people in your life an inspiration for this character?
My mom was sick with breast cancer for sixteen years before she passed. After she died, I learned more about my mom as a person, and found that Suzy Grabowski was an interesting young woman. She grew up in a restaurant, loved pie, and was funny and honest. I found a lot in her to transfer, and Carlie will continue to grow as I do, and as her story grows. In that sense, I keep my family alive in my books.

I love the small town atmosphere of Halfway, and wonder if you grew up in a small town or live in one now?
Absolutely. I moved from South Florida to Upstate New York on December 27th of 1981. You cannot imagine my culture shock. I was a beach rat who found himself in the ultimate small town, and I loved it.The Diner is, of course, taken from my own life. Our family restaurant was named after my grandparents– Ted N Peg’s Pie Stand– and it’s a huge part of my writing. So is pie. As in, I love it. Seriously.

Where would you most like to set a story, somewhere you haven’t yet used?
I’m on my way with this one– nineteenth century Paris, during the Belle Epoque. It’s no secret I have a crush on Delphine, my character from The Fearless, and I’m going to dive into the gritty, flashy, gorgeous mess of Paris during the absolute height of fashion and beauty. It’s just before the utter horror of World War One, so it fits Delphine. She’s so many things, and Paris will be her playground.

giveaway
Mini Bluetooth Speaker

$10 Amazon Gift Card

Halfway Dead Digital Audiobook

tour-schedule

Jan. 2: Dab of Darkness (Review)

Jan. 3: The Desert Bibliophile (Review, Spotlight & Audio Excerpt)

Jan. 4: Que Sara Sera (Review & Spotlight)

Jan. 5: Terri Loves Books (Review & Author Interview)

Jan. 6: Guilty Indulgence Book Club (Review)

Jan. 7: The Owlery (Review)

Jan. 8: Ribbon Reviews (Spotlight & Audio Excerpt)

Jan. 9: Lynn’s Romance Enthusiasm (Review, Spotlight & Audio Excerpt)
2 Girls and A Book (Review)

Jan. 10: Chapter Break (Review & Author Interview)

Jan. 11: Jorie Loves A Story (Review)

Jan. 12: Smada’s Book Blog (Review & Audio Excerpt)

Jan. 13: Mama Reads (Review & Author Interview)

Jan. 14: Bound 4 Escape (Review & Audio Excerpt)

Jan. 15: Avid Book Collector (Spotlight & Audio Excerpt)

ABW Promos3

➜Sign up as a host here

Commenting is Caring

