Check out #TheBoneWitch blog tour with #authorfacts and #giveaway #ffbc @rinchupeco

The Bone Witch (#1) by Rin Chupeco
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Release Date: March 7, 2017
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal

 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg


Synopsis:

The beast raged; it punctured the air with its spite. But the girl was fiercer. 

Tea is different from the other witches in her family. Her gift for necromancy makes her a bone witch, who are feared and ostracized in the kingdom. For theirs is a powerful, elemental magic that can reach beyond the boundaries of the living—and of the human.

Great power comes at a price, forcing Tea to leave her homeland to train under the guidance of an older, wiser bone witch. There, Tea puts all of her energy into becoming an asha, learning to control her elemental magic and those beasts who will submit by no other force. And Tea must be strong—stronger than she even believes possible. Because war is brewing in the eight kingdoms, war that will threaten the sovereignty of her homeland…and threaten the very survival of those she loves.

  1. I accidentally dove off the shallow end of a swimming pool when I was a kid. As you can probably imagine, that was not a very good day for me. I didn’t get any permanent damage from that mishap, but both my hands can now fold themselves lengthwise, which means I actually know the sound of one hand clapping. It should be noted that I persisted in jumping off diving boards and have not learned anything from this lesson at all.
  1. I collected troll dolls as a kid, and I still don’t remember why. I found my collection not too long ago in storage and showed my husband. Needless to say, he was horrified.
  1. I never officially had a cat growing up, but I wanted to. The problem was my family, all adamantly pro-dog, who also had dogs that were very firmly anti-cat. When I was fourteen, I found a kitten and took her in without anyone knowing. This worked well for about two days until I realized that this wasn’t going to work – it was summer vacation, and this was going to pose a problem once school started. We had a nice garden though, and I wound up sheltering the kitten there, safely away from our dog’s territory. The cat eventually became a neighborhood roamer, returning to sleep and be fed. My mom eventually found out when my best friend (the only person I told) called to ask if I wanted to adopt another dog and, forgetting my mother was present, wanted to know if the cat would be fine with it. Thanks, Steph.
  1. The house I grew up in was supposedly haunted by my grandfather’s ghost. There were always sounds of someone walking up the stairs in his heavy tread, and strange things happened during death anniversaries, according to visitors: plates rising up and slamming back down without anyone touching them, faint foggy images of him in mirrors, etc. I think my love of ghost stories first began from being told these anecdotes – despite the decidedly alarming activities, the ghostly presences were benevolent, and I never once felt that I wasn’t safe there.
  1. I wanted to be a dinosaur when I was three years old. I knew all the dinosaur names, with the archeopteryx being my favorite animal (it was a velociraptor that looked like a phoenix, how can I not love it). I read Jurassic Park when I was nine, even though I didn’t understand half of what was going on. Still my favorite movie.
  1. Another ghost story: I used to work for a company in a rather old building. I was the first one at the office one day, and was checking my email when another girl came in, passing my cubicle without saying a word. That was puzzling, as she was usually friendly. Five minutes later, she looked in, turned pale, and said “Where was the girl? The one in black that was reading over your shoulder?”

I had a reputation of other people seeing “ghostly” things around me, though I never saw anything out of the ordinary myself, and was never bothered / haunted by them.

  1. I was walking home from work one day when a bus a couple of blocks away literally exploded. I’d stopped to buy ice cream beforehand – if I hadn’t, I could have been in the thick of that mess. That’s why my policy ever since then has always been to buy ice cream whenever that possibility is presented to you. (It was widely believed that the Filipino version of ISIS, called al-Qaeda, was responsible for the explosion. Strangely enough, people here don’t blame or call for the deportation of Muslims, since we know full well that the majority of Muslims aren’t terrorists. It’s a policy I feel that America should maybe one day aspire to.)
  1. I never had a Barbie doll. My childhood was all about Ninja Turtles, G.I. Joe, X-Men, and Ghostbusters. I would frequently move my action figures into my sister’s dollhouse and declare a hostile takeover, much to her annoyance. My favorites: Leonardo, Egon, Storm, and Shipwreck.
  1. I cannot NOT sing Toto’s “Africa” whenever I hear it. I can’t. That song is my trigger scent.
  1. People ask me about my ethnicity a lot. My maternal great-grandfather came to the Philippines from China. My maternal great-grandma has some mix of Malay/Thai/Chinese blood. My paternal grandfather escaped the cultural revolution in China (he might have been related to minor Manchu royalty there, from what I gather), and my grandmother is a Spanish-Chinese mestiza. There’s a chance I might be descended from Genghis Khan on my father’s side (this could explain my general hairiness). And even after all that, most people tend to mistake me as either Japanese or Korean.

 

   

Rin Chupeco wrote obscure manuals for complicated computer programs, talked people out of their money at event shows, and did many other terrible things. She now writes about ghosts and fairy tales but is still sometimes mistaken for a revenant. She wrote The Girl from the Well, its sequel, The Suffering, and The Bone Witch, the first book of a new YA Fantasy trilogy. Find her at rinchupeco.com.




  • Open Internationally
  • Please read our Rules and Guidelines in the Rafflecop-ter
  • (1) winner will win a crochet Tea doll and Signed Hardback copy of The Bone Witch
  • (2) winners will win a Bottlecap Necklace and a crochet Tea doll each

 

 

2 thoughts on “Check out #TheBoneWitch blog tour with #authorfacts and #giveaway #ffbc @rinchupeco

  1. Hahaha!! I collected Troll dolls too!! Well, most 80’s-early 90’s kids did I guess. My fave one was a scuba diving one– weird random fact. Also, Barbies were my fave, but I still had the Ninja Turtle action figures as well…. although they were NOT allowed in my Barbie’s Dreamhouse.

    I loved this Top Ten list. Thanks for being a part of the tour!!

    • Nice! I had those weird little naked dolls too lol. And honestly, I loved Polly Pocket! They had a Ninja turtles version too, according to my husband. That would be rad.

      My pleasure! Thanks for stopping by!

Commenting is Caring

