Violet Grenade by @authorvscott will bend your mind before it blows it. Read a special #guestpost #review and enter the #giveaway @entangledteen @chapterxchapter

Violet Grenade by Victoria Scott

Publication Date:  May 2, 2017

Publisher:  Entangled Teen

 

DOMINO: A girl with blue hair and a demon in her mind.

CAIN: A stone giant on the brink of exploding.

MADAM KARINA: A woman who demands obedience.

WILSON: The one who will destroy them all.

When Madam Karina discovers Domino in an alleyway, she offers her a position inside her home for entertainers in secluded West Texas. Left with few alternatives and an agenda of her own, Domino accepts. It isn’t long before she is fighting her way up the ranks to gain the madam’s approval. But after suffering weeks of bullying and unearthing the madam’s secrets, Domino decides to leave. It’ll be harder than she thinks, though, because the madam doesn’t like to lose inventory. But then, Madam Karina doesn’t know about the person living inside Domino’s mind. Madam Karina doesn’t know about Wilson.

Purchase Links:

Google Play | BAM | Chapters | Indies | Amazon | B&N | Kobo | TBD | iBooks

5 Things I Learned While Researching for Violet Grenade by Victoria Scott

  1. Trains helped the North win the American Civil War.

Domino, my main character, has an obsession with trains, so I learned a lot of fun nuggets about the vehicles, like this one!

  1. Graffiti, as it’s known today, first began in the late 1960s in Philadelphia.

Domino has a creative side, and she expresses her inner desires on walls throughout the city of Detroit. I had much to learn on how and where artists tag walls.

  1. Average annual rainfall totals in West Texas are less than 8 inches.

Domino goes to live in West Texas after she meets Madam Karina, and even though I grew up in mid-Texas, and spent several years in North Texas, I haven’t spent a ton of time in the western parts. So I did a lot of research on this area of the state.

  1. In the past, aristocrats and important officials were required to wear wigs—the biggest, the better. That is how the term bigwig originated.

Domino wears wigs as a form of shelter, so I learned quite a big about them. I even thought about purchasing a purple one to celebrate the book, but decided instead to dye my hair violet.

  1. The Ancient Greeks considered the Violet a symbol of fertility and love, and used them in love potions.

I had such a blast researching which flowers to put inside Madam Karina’s Home for Burgeoning Entertainers, but after learning about violets, I knew they’d have to be the top of the hierarchy!

Mama Says:

Wow this book was much, much darker than I expected! I think the fantasy-esque cover and the author’s previous works just didn’t prepare me for what lay inside.  Full disclosure, there are some triggering scenes, actions and speech in this book so if you’re concerned feel free to reach out to learn more.
Fast paced and twistier than that one movie where no one ever knows what’s going on including the main character until the last five minutes, Violet Grenade goes zero to thrill and never really stops.
It’s definitely a book for older readers, and is written as such.  It didn’t feel like a condescending, barely veiled lesson to be learned, but more of a book with a story to be told and absorbed and taken to heart.  Whenever ya books deal with revenge, things can either go really really bad, or just not much happens.  I’ll let you read this one to decide which way it goes.
I really appreciated the author’s attention to minor details without going overboard, and the fact that she really fleshed out her characters, whether they were integral to the overall story or just a brief cameo.  It makes for a much richer experience when secondary characters aren’t just props along the way.
Unique and quite enthralling, Violet Grenade may not be for every contemporary reader, but it will certainly engage those who like to be on the edge of their seat for an entire read, while satisfying most of your curiosity by the conclusion.

My thanks to the author, publisher and tour host for the review opportunity!

Victoria Scott is the acclaimed author of eight books for young adults. Her novels are sold in fourteen different countries, and she loves receiving fan mail from across the world. Victoria loves high fashion, big cities, and pink cotton candy. You can find her online at VictoriaScott.com.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instragram | Goodreads

Enter the GIVEAWAY~ then follow the tour!

21 thoughts on “Violet Grenade by @authorvscott will bend your mind before it blows it. Read a special #guestpost #review and enter the #giveaway @entangledteen @chapterxchapter

  1. I’ve been seeing this book mentioned on a lot of blogs but it seems a little darker than I normally like. Of course, so was Nevernight and I loved that so I might just have to give this one a read as well.

    #getsocial17

  2. I love dark blogs so this one sounds like it’s perfect for me. I’ve also heard great things about the author. It doesn’t hurt that the cover is GORGEOUS. I’m having so much fun already with #Getsocial17 and am finding so many great new sites!

    • Same! I’m glad that I signed up and hope I can do a better job in the next couple days. Social anxiety transfers to social media it would seem. *insert monkey covering face emoji here*

  3. Greetings! I’m new to your blog. Stopping by as part of #getsocial17 event.

    Very cool information uncovered as part of the research. I love getting inside the mind of an author as she works. And thanks for the review!

  4. I felt the same way about this book. I wasn’t expecting it to be so dark but I’m so glad the author wrote the story this way.
    #getsocial17

Commenting is Caring

