Summer favorites from #OneBrokenDay author @melissamacvicar

One Broken Day
by Melissa MacVicar
Genre: YA Contemporary Fiction
Release Date: May 18th 2017

Buy on Amazon!


Summary:

After a notorious school shooting leaves her a shadow of the girl she once was, seventeen-year-old Lizzie Beringer moves to Nantucket Island. There, Lizzie vows to hide her identity as the shooter’s sister. All her efforts to fly under the radar, however, are complicated by her P.T.S.D. and the attention she receives from two competing boys. While fending off the not-so-subtle advances of popular athlete Michael Wickersham, she must also deal with her growing feelings for her shy lab partner Gage Pike. Gage may act like he’s all wrong for her, but the pull between them is undeniable. 

Under the threat of discovery and the possibility of testifying in a televised trial, Lizzie fights to keep her secrets and start her life over.

One Broken Day is a brilliantly imagined story exploring the ways we are all broken and at the same time, offered redemption in the most unexpected of places.


Top 4 Things I Love about Summer by Melissa MacVicar

I know everyone is going to be jealous when I tell you about my summer life because it really is almost too good to be true. No, this blog is not going to educate you, judge you, or tell you my political views. This post is simply going to share with you what I love about summer

As a teacher, I have two very different life routines. I have my school year life and my summer life, and my summer life is better than the average summer life because I live on the beautiful island of Nantucket. The other thing that is amazing about my summer life is that I get to write full time.

Here are four other things I love about Summer. Mind you, these are only the top 4 as of right now. I have a million little things I love about summer and the top four could change. But for now, here they are, in no particular order.  

  1. Flowers. They’re everywhere! At least here on Nantucket they are. I have a few shots of the glorious blooms I see around town and more, check out my Instagram. The air is quite literally scented with flowers in Nantucket.
  1. Morning Walks- In the summer, I get to take walks whenever I desire. They can be as long or as short as I want them to be, and they can be beachy or woodsy or downtown. I’m not really sure why I love walking so much, but it always clears my head, gives me ideas, and makes me happier than when I set out.

  2. Fires at the beach- I don’t get to do this nearly as much as I want, but digging out a small pit in the sand and throwing in a few logs at sunset is amazing. I especially love when we scour the beach for sticks to use for kindling and bring the makings of s’mores. Then, we sit around in the dark in beach chairs and watch the embers glow and crackle. Ahh, I feel like I’m there right now.

  3. Thrift shopping- During the school year, I don’t have time to poke around the thrift shops for treasures, but in the summer I can visit as many yard sales and shops as I want. I collect vintage pottery as well as jewelry and anything else that catches my eye (think Country Living magazine). Having the time to treasure hunt is one of the many awesome things about my summers.

So there you have it: my summer, in a nutshell. I hope wherever you live, you get to enjoy the best summer has to offer to you. And if you want a little taste of summer here in Nantucket, check out my books at http://melissamacvicar.com

About the Author
Melissa was born and mostly raised on Nantucket Island, and she currently lives there with her husband and two teenage children. When not being a wife and mother and teaching writing to seventh graders, she enjoys binge watching shows like Big Little Lies, House of Cards, and Outlander. Despite the rumors to the contrary, she does not actually wish she was a teenager again, nor does she see ghosts like the main character in her first novel, Ever Near. She does, however, love to hear from readers so send her a message on social media or at her email: melissa.macvicar@gmail.com
Author Links:

    

Commenting is Caring

