Bitten will keep you guessing and make you question your own part in the decline of the health of our environment. Read more in today’s #review

Book Details:

Book Title: Bitten by Alan Moore
Category: Adult Fiction, 430 pages
Genre: Thriller
Publisher: Self-published
Release date: February 7, 2018
Tour dates: June 4 to 22, 2018
Content Rating: R (Book contains profanities, intermittent sex and violence, incl. one violent sex episode, together with scenes of explicit disaster, distress and death)

Book Description:

In the not-too-distant future, Italy is in disarray. It has voted to leave the EU in an attempt to regain control of its laws, finances and commerce. Even so, the country’s economy is shrinking and its national debt rising. There is a marked escalation, too, in unemployment, bank loans and immigration. Production and service companies are in difficulty. The only thriving business areas are the black market and organised crime. There is discontent and protest on all sides.

In Florence, the local Mafia boss, more accustomed to gunrunning and trading in plutonium, is involved in organising a silent auction for the sale of one of the world’s most valuable lost paintings – a sixteenth-century masterpiece, which was appropriated in World War II by Stalin’s Trophy Brigade. A British art expert is set to buy the picture on behalf of his client, a South American billionaire – yet surprisingly two Italian undercover intelligence agents, acting as antique dealers, submit the winning bid.

All the while, human beings continue to harm the Earth by destroying land, sea, air, animals and trees. Global climate change, polluting the atmosphere, depleting the ozone layer: these are some of man’s crimes against Nature. But time is running out. Nature has lost patience with humans. Unless something is done immediately to reverse the destruction of the ecosystem, Nature will retaliate by deploying the terrifying forces at her command. And as a first step in wreaking her revenge, she instigates a reign of terror by the deadliest creature on Earth.

To read reviews, please visit Alan Moore’s page on Italy Book Tours.

Buy the Book:

 

 

Mama Says:
As you might have gathered from the synopsis, Bitten is a very politically and socially conscious piece of speculative fiction.  I never felt like the author tried to hard to push a certain agenda, making this book a much better experience.  I just despise being preached at, especially in fiction.
Rather fast paced, even with all the information provided, Bitten takes the reader on a fascinating and tumultuous journey that forces you to examine the “what ifs” of our destructive tendencies and blase attitude towards our effect on the planet.
Though the story was utterly engrossing, I didn’t find quite as much character development as I would have hoped for,thus the book comes across as a bit dry at times.  If you’re someone looking for a deep emotional connection, this might not be the book for you.  However, if you rather enjoy a book that grabs you and keeps you reading to find out what happens, you’ll definitely want to read Bitten.
Fans of Michael Crichton and T.C. Boyle may very well find a new favorite author in Mr. Alan Moore!
3.5 stars and my sincere thanks to the author and tour host for the opportunity to review and interview! Read on for more!
 

 

Meet the Author:

 

Born in Surbiton, Surrey in 1944, Alan Moore lives in Barnes, SW London, with his wife, Amber. They have two daughters and a son, who between them have two boys and two girls with another boy expected in May. Alan was educated at Oundle School in Northamptonshire and at London University, where, as an external student, he obtained a BA degree in English. Thereafter, for 25 years, he single-handedly ran his own book publishing company, which at one stage was producing up to 20 titles a year. Now, at the age of 74, he has self-published his first novel.
Learn more about Bitten and the author in our exclusive interview! Thanks to Mr. Moore for his time and answers.
What was your research process like for Bitten?

I did a lot of research.  I read or consulted at least five major entomological studies on the mosquito.  I also read a considerable amount on the process of authenticating Old Master paintings.

How did you decide to self-publish vs. going through the traditional route? What are the benefits? The challenges?

I decided to self-publish Bitten in order to save time and anguish. As a former book publisher, I know how long it takes for agents to decide whether they want to represent your book or not (you have to have an agent if you want to approach any of the major publishing houses).  Then, if you do manage to find an agent and he offers your book to the publishing house he has the most fruitful relationship with, it takes at least three to four months for them to decide whether they’re interested.  And if they are, it then takes another five to six months to produce the book.  With the assistance of Kindle Direct Publishing, I published Bitten, from typescript to finished book, in under four months!

Who would you say influenced you the most, professionally speaking?

As a writer, I’ve not been influenced professionally.  There are certain authors I admire – Robert Harris, for example – who I’m sure have had a subconscious effect on my style and approach. But I’ve not sought professional advice on how to write.

If you could retell a favorite character’s story, which character would you choose?

It would have to be Napoleon, who has been the subject of over 300,000 books.  My aim would be to bring a personal slant and a new approach to his life-story.

Can you tell us what you’re working on now?

I’m working on a semi-autobiographical novel.  Among other things, it will feature some of the many interesting people I’ve met, also some of the extraordinary things I’ve done.  More disturbingly, it will include my dreadful experiences as a pupil (from the ages of 7 to 12) at a prep boarding school, where the headmaster was a sadistic paedophile and his wife a cruel vindictive bitch.

 

Enter the Giveaway! A copy of the book and Amazon gc up for grabs~
Ends June 30, 2018

a Rafflecopter giveaway https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

 

Advertisements

Commenting is Caring

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.